Tuesday, 16 January 2018 10:12

Record breaking Sharks!

Rate this item
(3 votes)

The Audenshaw Sharks back in action with record breaking victory.

Sharks Logo

The Audenshaw Sharks recommenced their 2017/18 campaign with a record breaking victory over Bradford Grammar School on Monday evening. The final score of 175-84 now stands as the biggest margin of victory since the official formation of the Sharks in 2010. The event, staged at the Adrian Moorhouse Swimming Pool in Bradford, names after the 1988 Olympic Gold Medalist who attended the school, was the fourth annual meet between the schools and the fourth win in succession for the men of Audenshaw. Starring performances were a plenty with Caden Bennett, Saul Inglis, Harry Smith and Harrison Stopford impressing in the junior section, each with stunning victories and the intermediate boys won every race, some by huge margins. The "golden generation" of Alex Campbell, Kian Tevlin, Wunnai Tam and Jolan Bennett as ever took the Sharks' displays to new heights competing and winning in both intermediate and senior races. Nathan Clare was in his usual stunning form in winning all of his races.

The senior boys too were in electric form with Sam Doherty powering to a victory in the men's freestyle following Rory Lees' win in the butterfly event. Harry Rider and Ethan Taylor stepped up superbly to earn first and second places too, all adding to the massive points score accumulated by the visiting side.

The ever improving Jack Williams and Arthur Tetlow were impressive in their races and Harry Rider responded with bravery and courage after losing his goggles at the start of the backstroke. James Finn's determination and increasing power saw him earn a second place in the intermediate backstroke and he added a tough leg of breastroke too in the relay.

All in all it was nothing short of a thrilling example of performance swimming from the Audenshaw team and special thanks must go to team skipper, Sam Owen and his deputy, Kian Tevlin, for their work in organising the squad. I must personally commend each and every one of our swimmers who were truly amazing in their displays. The Sharks move forward into 2018 filled with confidence with Stockport Grammar coming next on the schedule.

The Team: Theo Taylor, Adam Bouksham, Caden Bennett, Jack Williams, Arthur Tetlow, James Finn, Harry Finn, Isaac Davies, Harry Smith , Nathan Clare, Sam Doherty, Rory Lees, Harry Rider, Harrison Stopford, Saul Inglis, Alex Campbell, Kian Tevlin, Wunnai Tam, Jolan Bennett, Ethan Taylor, Danyal Saeed Mobin, Sam Owen (c).

Read 5210 times Last modified on Tuesday, 16 January 2018 10:17

Technical Support

Need help and information relating to use of Office365 and/or accessing your desktop via the Audenshaw Cloud?

Curriculum Area

Curriculum support area, including curriculum map and the Year 10/11 curriculum plus guided pathways info

Contact Us

The school address and contact numbers, our contact form, how to find us and twitter feeds all featured here!